Rep. Rutherford Honors 4th Congressional District Service Academy Nominees

December 1, 2020
Press Release

JACKSONVILLE, FL – Last night, Representative John Rutherford (FL-04) announced this year’s nominees to the United States Air Force Academy (USAFA), United States Merchant Marine Academy (USMMA), United States Military Academy (USMA), and the United States Naval Academy (USNA). Rep. Rutherford congratulated the 34 nominees at the Allen D. Nease High School Performing Arts Center and wished them success in their final selection process.

“One of the greatest privileges I have as a congressman is to nominate motivated and well-rounded young leaders from our community to attend America’s military academies,” said Rutherford. “These students are some of the best and brightest Northeast Florida has to offer. I thank these outstanding young men and women for making the noble decision to serve our country and I look forward to following their many future successes.”

Each year, thousands of students from across the country apply to attend one of our nation’s service academies. The ultra-competitive selection process includes receiving a nomination from the president, vice president, or a member of Congress. The 34 students from Northeast Florida who received nominations through the office of Representative Rutherford must now compete for admission against nominees from across the country.

Please find below the nominees from Florida’s 4th Congressional District:


Allen D. Nease High School

  • Brandon Timothy Donovan – USMA

Bartram Trail High School

  • Chloe Marie Hill – USAFA
  • Mackenzie Ann Williams – USMA

Bishop Kenny High School

  • Christopher Joseph Waldrep – USNA
  • William James Weinbecker – USMMA

The Bolles School

  • David Olufemi Adewale – USAFA
  • William Gray Camp – USAFA, USMA
  • Meagan D. Donovan – USAFA, USNA

Calvert Hall College High School

  • Joshua Gabriel Fisher – USMMA, USNA

Creekside High School

  • Jacob William Douberly – USNA
  • Pavel A. Shilenko – USAFA, USMA
  • Elyse Victoria Soracco – USMA

Douglas Anderson School of Arts

  • Caroline Elizabeth Guiler – USAFA

The Episcopal School

  • Cooper Pierce Richart – USNA

Florida State University

  • Eric Jeffrey Su – USMA

Florida Virtual High School

  • Coral Morgan Lee – USAFA

Kubasaki High School

  • Nathan Walden Scherry Jr. – USNA
  • Sebastian Gabriel Scherry – USMA, USMMA, USNA

Paxon School for Advanced Studies

  • Tavia A. Romans – USMMA
  • Adam Vincent Slama – USAFA

Ponte Vedra High School

  • Edward Anderson Lancaster – USNA
  • Mason Diego Romero – USNA

Sandalwood High School

  • Aliyah Gabrielle Alexander – USNA
  • Nathan Dylan Benavidez – USMMA

The Setzer Boys Academy

  • Robert Lee Setzer – USMA, USMMA

Stanton College Preparatory School

  • Alejandro S. Fluitt Martinez – USMA

St. Johns Country Day School

  • Walker Bay Mathews – USMA

St. Joseph’s Academy

  • Jackson Conrad Miller – USMMA

St. Thomas University

  • Connor Joseph McQuade – USMMA

University of South Florida

  • Jacob Langdon Saperstein – USAFA

USMA Preparatory School

  • Thomas Scott Zitiello – USMA

USNA Preparatory School

  • Jordan Micah Rodgers – USNA
  • Maxwell Bruce Silva – USNA

West Nassau High School

  • Abbigail Grace Vienneau – USAFA, USMMA